Skip to content


We are challengers, explorers, innovators and collaborators.  We do things differently, not for the sake of being different, but because it delivers results. It’s not just about having the right knowledge; it’s also about the right approach. We are an agile team, collaborating with our municipal colleagues, board members, Town Councils and industry, to deliver significant impacts, accelerated results, and sustainable communities. 

Aaron Long

General Manager

Aaron has worked in the renewable energy industry for over two decades. As General Manager, Aaron is responsible for the overall performance of AREA, MEU decarbonization initiatives and relationships with stakeholders. Aaron has deep roots in Nova Scotia and enjoys coaching his sons’ hockey teams.

Sean Fleming

Project Development Manager

Sean is a professional engineer who has worked in the solar industry for over a decade. At AREA Sean is responsible for the community solar gardens including business case development, project management, funding, financing, procurement and construction. Sean enjoys city life and lives with his family in Halifax.

Lenta Wright

Program and Operations Officer

Lenta is a program developer with a passion for bettering the lives of our customers and has over two decades of experience in the motor vehicle industry. At AREA Lenta is responsible for developing customer programs, business and skills continuity activities and compliance. Lenta lives in Halifax with her family and enjoys rural travel.

Don Regan

Special Advisor

Don is a power line electrical technician by trade with over 46 years of experience in Utility and Energy Management and is a special advisor to AREA. He has been working with the town of Berwick for 42 years, 38 of which he’s has been involved in the Berwick Electric Commission. He was one of the founding members of AREA and continues to advocate for and drive the decarbonization efforts in Berwick and Nova Scotia. Don is the Superintendent of Berwick Electric Commission and is passionate about making a difference in his community.

Board of Directors

Laurie Boucher

Chair – Town of Antigonish

David Devenne

Co-Chair – Town of Mahone Bay

Willie Cormier

Town of Antigonish

Don Clarke

Town of Berwick

Derrick Jamieson

Town of Berwick

Kelly Wilson

Town of Mahone Bay